Adjusting the Zankapfel Life

Brewing, Cats, and Moving

Tutoring – unemployment blurb 82 of 159

ganesh

No idea where this is from, I found it in my random-graphic folder.

Thank goodness for self-motivated business opportunities!  When I first moved to this area 18 months ago, I was looking for a very flexible job because I had eight zillion other things to do (and yet really nothing at all).  A family friend who lives in the southwestern section of the US told me that she had made a career out of tutoring and sent me to Wyzant, the site that she uses as a middle party.  I signed up for it, and with a bit of dedication I managed to snag me some clients.

I took a break from tutoring this past spring and summer because my hours at the restaurant picked up and became very unpredictable.  But when I left the restaurant I re-activated my account and picked up a few more clients.  I like the website because it allows for my clients to use credit cards.  Also, my clients can see that I’m qualified in my advertised subjects because I need to complete a test for each.  They can also request a background check if one is desired.

It’s not a fully sustainable income, but because of my current couch-surfing status, it allows me to squirrel a bit away in order to buy brewing ingredients, food, and work on my student loans.

2 comments on “Tutoring – unemployment blurb 82 of 159

  1. SaraC
    December 10, 2012

    Imma tell my friend about that website, because she’s a teacher and I want her to move up to the boonies with me and she’s afraid about finding work. Thanks!

    • Lavender_Pepper
      December 10, 2012

      If she creates an account as a tutor, she can see what the current demand in your area is by searching your zip code. I’ve been checking a few spots as I’m now free to move. She should check over the course of a few weeks. Plus, there might be a local-ish tutoring service or Kaplan center. Good luck in getting her to join! :D

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 7, 2012 by in Adulthood, Unemployment.

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

