Adjusting the Zankapfel Life

Brewing, Cats, and Moving

The first step is the most important…

My SpecSO and I had been discussing moving in together for a few months, but in April we both decided that it sounded like a great idea. After all, I’ve already had a hand in his garden plans, he was growing my hops, and the only reason I spent any amount of time at my horrid little apartment was to take care of my cats.

We both have a goal to get off of the grid as much as possible, so this blog will report our success.  I know his reasons are to buffer any economic issues that we might face in the next coming years. The cost of living is increasing as fuel (and subsiquently material processing) prices increase, and I would love to not have to shoulder all of those costs on my fluxuating tips. Also, I believe in voting with my dollars, and the more money I can put into local and sustainable businesses, the more I can keep from large companies who I disagree with.

You might notice a page on this blog labled ‘101 in 1001’.  There I outlined 101 goals I hope to accomplish in the next 1001 years (just less than 3 years).  I’m a list person, so if I don’t outline my plans, I find myself adrift in all the possibilities of things I *could* do.  Most of the goals revolve around my beer brewing, developing my homesteading skills, physical fitness, fiscal fitness, and multiple art projects that I’ve been toying with. I’ll update the blog with my progress. Hopefully it is interesting.

Thanks for checking out this blog! I hope to soon write about what infrastructure we already have in place as well as an initial update on my 101 in 1001 and progress on combining households. I can’t wait to start to connect with others who have similar goals.

2 comments on “The first step is the most important…

  1. Woot
    April 25, 2012

    Well, I’m not growing your hops yet…

    • Gexx
      April 25, 2012

      They’re at your house and we bought materials to make the trellis. That’s close enough for me. 😛

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 25, 2012 by in On the Homestead.

Navigation

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Categories

