Adjusting the Zankapfel Life

Brewing, Cats, and Moving

Link Dump #010

image

Tomatillos!

And rain! Finally we’re getting the rain that will break this streak of upper 90 degree days!  While I’m working, trying to stay cool in the middle of the day, I LOVE to listen to music.  I miss the city I used to live in and the giant music culture we had.  We produced some amazing musicians and groups always made a point to stop by to play amazing shows.  Two of the bands I loved to go see when they were playing are featured here in this post.  And if you don’t love whisk(e)y, you must love angels.  And if you’re like me, you love both.

… where I curate articles, directions, advice, recipes, projects, and things that interest me. The topics can include homesteading, booze, beer, sex, politics, and food.

Moving toward an inclusive menstruation dialogue – Yes! Menstruation is not something to be avoided as ‘yucky,’ but we are moving toward a culture where Real Women menstruate.  And not all do.  So let’s not exclude them.

Rolling in the Deep, Adele – This week’s song to learn on guitar

Bookbinding – Add this to the list of ‘crafty things I might could make an income on.’

Little Things –  I discovered Domesteading when I started this blog, and I totally dig her!  So after you read about how to use pantyhose to support laterally growing melons, check out her whole site!

It’s time to start planning your fall garden – Yes it is!

Small Scale Grains: Another Piece of the Eat Local Puzzle – Yay! I’m sure y’all read about my attempt at growing staples (potatoes).  If I could get locally grown grains, I would be tickled pink!

Crispy Parmasean Zucchini Fries – You never get ‘just a few’ zucchini…

Recipe for Homemade Calamine Lotion – It looks so easy!  However, it’s def something that you should have prepped ahead of time.  I don’t get poison anything, but the SpecSO does…

How to make baby pants from old tshirts! – Baby clothes are SO CUTE!  I have friends who insist on buying baby clothes for  their friends’ babies whenever they visit. Which is why retailers can charge an arm and a leg for such tiny bits of fabric that the baby might wear three times between hir quick growth and plethora of gifted and hand-me-down clothes.  If you’re the slightest bit sewing-capable, you can use those old tshirts of yours or babymom or babydad.  You can put your college, some tourist attraction, or movie and tv characters across the baby’s bottoms.

2 comments on “Link Dump #010

  1. SaraC
    July 19, 2012

    Thanks for the shout out, yo! And for the music tips, as always 🙂

    • Lavender_Pepper
      July 19, 2012

      No problem! I’ve known about growing cukes + small squash vertically, but pantyhose+melons are something I need to incorporate next year.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 19, 2012 by in Link Dump.

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Categories

