Adjusting the Zankapfel Life

Brewing, Cats, and Moving

Batch #006 – Chocolate Bourbon Dunkelweizen

A wooly worm from my morning run!

While brewing took a back seat during this hiatus, I didn’t forget it. I couldn’t leave our household without some beer! The Gruit that I made needed a significant amount of time to develop, which is coming along beautifully. Also, the gruit is very intense. For those two reasons, I wanted to build a beer that was good young and is easily quaffable. I hadn’t done a wheat beer before, so I picked a dunkelweizen. I also had a pile of Coca Nibs in my pantry, so I half filled a half pint Ball Jar with them and topped it off with some mid-range bourbon from the liquor cabinet. Then I put together a recipe and eventually made my way to my friendly neighborhood homebrew store, like one does.

I’m very pleased with this beer. I bottled it only about a month ago, but I’ve had quite a bit of it. When it was first bottled, there were some serious banana notes, but after a week in the bottle (yes, a week) they mellowed out to just a bit of sweetness. The chocolate notes are obvious but not overpowering, and the bourbon-ness is pretty much invisible. I was hoping for some additional complexity from the bourbon, but if I want that next time I might add more and maybe some soaked oak chips.

It pours like a wonderful, unctuous, dark beer and drinks so smoothly. This one will certainly join my rotation of ‘regulars.’

Chocolate (Bourbon) Dunkelweizen

Bring 3 gallons H20 to 170F.

Steep:
2oz Chocolate malt
8oz Carapils
8oz caramel malt 40L
for 30 min
Remove grains and let drain.
Bring to a boil:
60min: 3.3lb wheat LME (Muntons)

30min: 3.3lb Darl LME (Briess)
2/3 oz German Saphir

10min: 3.3lb Wheat LME (Muntons)
1/3 oz Saphir
1/3 oz German Hallertau

2min: 2/3 oz German Hallertau

Cool. Transfer. Fill to 5 gallons.

Pitch yeast: Wyeast 3638 Bavarian Wheat

It has a very… explosive primary fermentation.

I’m a horrible brewer / note taker on this one! I don’t remember if I put the nibs in with the primary or the secondary. I *think* I put it in secondary…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 1, 2012 by in Beer, Recipe.

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Categories

