Adjusting the Zankapfel Life

Brewing, Cats, and Moving

Halloween Party Contribution: King Cake!

I brought a King Cake to a Halloween party. No, I was not confused. I fully knew I was 5 months too early. But for years I’ve been in possession of my Louisiana-born-and-raised old boss’s grandmother’s recipe and I’ve been wanting to try it. It’s a fair bit of work for a cake and takes about two days, so I’ve also been intimidated. But hey, I could make it for a party, so why not!

I did change it up a bit, but I’ll give you the original recipe in this post. I made some quick apple filling with chopped apples, brown sugar, and cinnamon. Also, I only made half of the glaze (I tend to not be a frosting person). Lastly, I burned it – but just a little! I left it in for about 10 minutes extra because I got distracted after I turned off the buzzer. But I was covering it with a thick glaze and bringing it to a party. Even if people shied away from it at first, they would warm to it if they needed a drunk snack.

I was very pleased with it. SpecSO was a little disappointed because he thought I was making a *cake* cake. Not this buttery pastry. Also, I keep forgetting that he really isn’t a fan of apples. (What? really?!? Yeah, I know. It’s weird.) I can’t wait to make another for the proper Carnival.

King Cake w Fruit + Cream Cheese
1 envelope yeast
1/4 c warm water
1/2 c milk
1 c butter
1/2 c sugar
2 egg yolks
2 whole eggs
4 c unbleached flour
1 (1lb) can fruit pie filling
8 oz cream cheese
1/2 c sugar
2 tbs flour
1 tsp vanilla
eggwash

Mix yeast w warm water. Stir a tsp each sugar + flour w the yeast + set aside; should begin to bubble in 10 min. Bring milk to a boil, stir in butter + sugar. Pour into lg bowl, when mixture is lukewarm, beat in egg yolks, eggs + yeast. Beat in 2c flour till dough is smooth, then add enough flour to make a soft dough, into a ball, knead it till smooth + elastic. Lightly oil a bowl, turn dough over once or twice to grease it lightly all over. Cover w cloth, warm place, let rise 90 min-2 hours til doubled in size. Punch dough down, cover bowl w damp towel + plastic film over towel; refrigerate overnight. Shape dough into long sausage shape w well-floured hands. Roll out dough on floured surface int a 30″x9″ rectangle. Let rest. Drain juice from fruit if necessary. Mix remaining ingrediants except egg wash. Spoon an inch wide strip of fruit filling near center, then same w cheese. Brush edges w egg wash’ fold edges over. Place on greased pan. Join ends. Cover + rest 30 min. Brush w wash, cut deep vent. Bake @ 375 45 min-1 hr

Glaze for King Cake
2 lbs powdered sugar
1 pinch salt
1 tbs almond extract
3/4 c water
3 tbs cinnamon

In electric mixer bowl, combine sugar + salt. Mix on low speed while slowly pouring in almond extract + water. Add cinnamon, blend till glaze is smooth. Set aside.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 2, 2012 by in Cooking, Recipe.

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Categories

